Business certifications
Compare federal and state business certifications, with eligibility, costs and application steps linked to official sources.
SBA contracting certifications can make qualifying businesses eligible for reserved federal contracts. Eligibility and benefits differ by program. [SBA certification programs]
Federal certifications
-
SBA 8(a) Business Development Program
A business development and federal contracting program for eligible small, disadvantaged businesses. [SBA certification programs]
Eligibility, cost and how to apply
Use the current application and October 2026 guidance. Tribes, Alaska Native corporations, Native Hawaiian organizations and community development corporations are exempt from the social-disadvantage showing for entity-owned firms. [SBA 8(a) October 2026 guidance]
Who qualifies
Small businesses at least 51% owned and controlled by socially and economically disadvantaged U.S. citizens; separate rules cover eligible entity-owned firms. [SBA certification programs]
- Meet SBA size standards, demonstrate good character and potential for success, and generally have two years in business. The firm cannot have participated previously. [SBA certification programs]
- Qualifying owners must meet SBA economic-disadvantage limits: $850,000 personal net worth, $400,000 three-year average adjusted gross income and $6.5 million in assets, with SBA exclusions. [SBA certification programs]
- Individually owned applicants must provide objective evidence of group discrimination, attest to membership at the time and show resulting material harm. SBA replaced the former subjective narrative standard on September 10, 2026. [SBA 8(a) October 2026 guidance]
Cost
A certification fee is not stated in the official sources reviewed. Ask the agency before applying. [SBA certification programs]
Processing time
SBA states 90 days after receiving a complete application. [SBA certification programs]
What it unlocks
- Eligibility for 8(a) set-aside and sole-source contracts, business development support and mentoring. [SBA certification programs]
How to apply
- Check the program requirements and assemble the ownership, business and financial records requested by SBA. [SBA certification programs] Read the application instructions.
- Create or sign in to your SBA Certifications account, select 8(a) and complete the application. [SBA Certifications] Open SBA Certifications.
-
Economically Disadvantaged Women-Owned Small Business (EDWOSB)
The economically disadvantaged category within the WOSB federal contracting program. [SBA certification programs]
Eligibility, cost and how to apply
Who qualifies
Businesses meeting WOSB requirements whose qualifying women owners also demonstrate economic disadvantage. [13 CFR 127.203]
- At least 51% ownership and control by U.S.-citizen women; the business must meet SBA size standards. [13 CFR 127.200]
- Owner personal net worth must be below $850,000, excluding the business interest and primary-home equity. SBA applies additional exclusions. [13 CFR 127.203]
- Three-year average adjusted gross income above $400,000 creates a rebuttable presumption against eligibility; assets generally cannot exceed $6.5 million. The regulation explains retirement and other exclusions. [13 CFR 127.203]
Cost
SBA’s online certification process is free; optional third-party certification may carry a fee. [SBA certification programs]
Processing time
SBA states 90 calendar days after a complete application, whenever practicable. [SBA certification programs]
What it unlocks
- Compete for contracts reserved for EDWOSBs in eligible industries, as well as WOSB opportunities for which the firm qualifies. [SBA certification programs]
How to apply
- Check the program requirements and assemble the ownership, business and financial records requested by SBA. [SBA certification programs] Read the application instructions.
- Create or sign in to your SBA Certifications account, select EDWOSB and complete the application. [SBA Certifications] Open SBA Certifications.
-
Historically Underutilized Business Zone (HUBZone)
A federal contracting certification for small businesses with a qualifying location and workforce. [SBA certification programs]
Eligibility, cost and how to apply
Who qualifies
Small businesses meeting HUBZone ownership, principal-office and employee-residency rules. [13 CFR 126.200]
- Generally, at least 51% ownership and control must belong to U.S. citizens or qualifying tribal, Native, cooperative or community-development entities. [13 CFR 126.200]
- The principal office must generally be in a HUBZone and at least 35% of employees must qualify as HUBZone residents. Special rules apply to certain entity-owned businesses. [13 CFR 126.200]
Cost
A certification fee is not stated in the official sources reviewed. Ask the agency before applying. [13 CFR 126.200]
Processing time
A typical processing time is not stated in the official sources reviewed. [13 CFR 126.200]
What it unlocks
- Compete for HUBZone set-asides and receive a 10% price-evaluation preference in full and open federal competitions. [SBA certification programs]
How to apply
- Check the program requirements and assemble the ownership, business and financial records requested by SBA. [SBA certification programs] Read the application instructions.
- Create or sign in to your SBA Certifications account, select HUBZone and complete the application. [SBA Certifications] Open SBA Certifications.
-
Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (VetCert SDVOSB)
SBA certification for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses seeking eligible government contracts. [SBA veteran contracting programs]
Eligibility, cost and how to apply
Who qualifies
Small businesses at least 51% owned and controlled by one or more qualifying service-disabled veterans residing in the United States. [13 CFR 128.200]
- The firm must be small under at least one NAICS code listed in its SAM registration and meet SBA ownership and control requirements. [13 CFR 128.200]
- For SDVOSB, qualifying ownership must be held by service-disabled veterans; a narrow spouse or permanent-caregiver exception covers certain permanent and severe disabilities. [13 CFR 128.200]
Cost
A certification fee is not stated in the official sources reviewed. Ask the agency before applying. [13 CFR 128.200]
Processing time
A typical processing time is not stated in the SBA application-review regulation reviewed. [13 CFR 128.302]
What it unlocks
- Compete for federal sole-source and set-aside contracts government-wide. [SBA veteran contracting programs]
How to apply
- Gather evidence that the business is small and owned and controlled by qualifying veterans. [13 CFR 128.300] Read the application instructions.
- Sign in to SBA Certifications and submit the VetCert application and supporting records. [SBA Certifications] Open SBA Certifications.
-
Veteran-Owned Small Business (VetCert VOSB)
SBA certification for veteran-owned small businesses seeking eligible government contracts. [SBA veteran contracting programs]
Eligibility, cost and how to apply
Who qualifies
Small businesses at least 51% owned and controlled by one or more qualifying veterans residing in the United States. [13 CFR 128.200]
- The firm must be small under at least one NAICS code listed in its SAM registration and meet SBA ownership and control requirements. [13 CFR 128.200]
- Veteran ownership and control must be substantiated in the certification application. [13 CFR 128.200]
Cost
A certification fee is not stated in the official sources reviewed. Ask the agency before applying. [13 CFR 128.200]
Processing time
A typical processing time is not stated in the SBA application-review regulation reviewed. [13 CFR 128.302]
What it unlocks
- Compete for VA sole-source and set-aside contracts under the Vets First program. [SBA veteran contracting programs]
How to apply
- Gather evidence that the business is small and owned and controlled by qualifying veterans. [13 CFR 128.300] Read the application instructions.
- Sign in to SBA Certifications and submit the VetCert application and supporting records. [SBA Certifications] Open SBA Certifications.
-
Women-Owned Small Business Federal Contract Program (WOSB)
Certification for eligible women-owned businesses competing for federal WOSB contracts. [SBA certification programs]
Eligibility, cost and how to apply
Who qualifies
Small businesses at least 51% directly and unconditionally owned and controlled by women who are U.S. citizens. [13 CFR 127.200]
- Meet SBA size standards for the business; qualifying women must control management and daily operations. [13 CFR 127.200]
Cost
SBA’s online certification process is free. An optional approved third-party certifier may charge a fee. [SBA certification programs]
Processing time
SBA states it will decide within 90 calendar days after a complete application, whenever practicable. [SBA certification programs]
What it unlocks
- Compete for WOSB set-aside contracts in eligible industries. The certification applies to federal procurement. [SBA certification programs]
How to apply
- Check the program requirements and assemble the ownership, business and financial records requested by SBA. [SBA certification programs] Read the application instructions.
- Create or sign in to your SBA Certifications account, select WOSB and complete the application. [SBA Certifications] Open SBA Certifications.
Choose your state
Choose a state to compare its listed programs and application routes. Related certifications sharing one application may be grouped together.
State pages include the state Unified Certification Program (UCP) route for federal transportation DBE certification. [USDOT UCP directory]
- Alabama2 programs
- Alaska1 program
- Arizona1 program
- Arkansas1 program
- California2 programs
- Colorado2 programs
- Connecticut2 programs
- Delaware2 programs
- District of Columbia2 programs
- Florida2 programs
- Georgia2 programs
- Hawaii1 program
- Idaho1 program
- Illinois3 programs
- Indiana2 programs
- Iowa2 programs
- Kansas2 programs
- Kentucky2 programs
- Louisiana2 programs
- Maine1 program
- Maryland3 programs
- Massachusetts3 programs
- Michigan2 programs
- Minnesota2 programs
- Mississippi2 programs
- Missouri2 programs
- Montana2 programs
- Nebraska1 program
- Nevada2 programs
- New Hampshire1 program
- New Jersey2 programs
- New Mexico1 program
- New York2 programs
- North Carolina2 programs
- North Dakota1 program
- Ohio2 programs
- Oklahoma2 programs
- Oregon2 programs
- Pennsylvania2 programs
- Rhode Island2 programs
- South Carolina3 programs
- South Dakota1 program
- Tennessee2 programs
- Texas2 programs
- Utah1 program
- Vermont1 program
- Virginia2 programs
- Washington3 programs
- West Virginia2 programs
- Wisconsin2 programs
- Wyoming1 program