Kansas business certifications

Compare the programs below, then follow the linked agency instructions. Each requirement links to the official source reviewed.

Kansas Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)

The state UCP route to DBE certification for USDOT-assisted transportation contracting. [USDOT UCP directory]

Kansas Unified Certification Program. Official program information

Sources reviewed .

DBE eligibility requires individual evidence of social and economic disadvantage. Race or sex alone does not establish eligibility under the current federal rule. [49 CFR 26.67]

USDOT lists this state’s lead certifier in its UCP directory. State-specific intake, fees and turnaround were not confirmed; check the linked certifier before applying. [USDOT UCP directory]

Who qualifies

For-profit small businesses at least 51% owned by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals who control daily operations. [USDOT DBE eligibility]

  • Meet applicable small-business limits and demonstrate genuine ownership and control. [USDOT DBE eligibility]
  • Qualifying owners must provide a personal narrative with individualized evidence of disadvantage, economic harm and a current personal-net-worth statement. [49 CFR 26.67]
  • Provide ownership, financial, licensing and business records and cooperate with the certifier’s interview and site review. [49 CFR 26.83]

Cost

A state-specific fee is not confirmed in the sources reviewed. Federal rules permit approved reasonable fees and appropriate waivers; ask the certifier. [49 CFR 26.83]

Processing time

Typical turnaround is not confirmed. The federal decision deadline is 90 days after all required information arrives, with a possible 30-day extension and further USDOT-approved extension. This is a rule, not a turnaround estimate. [49 CFR 26.83]

What it unlocks

  • Certification establishes eligibility to participate as a DBE in covered transportation procurement. Check the UCP’s current reevaluation status before relying on contract goals. [49 CFR 26.83] [USDOT UCP directory]

How to apply

  1. Start with the state’s lead UCP and confirm the appropriate certifier and current intake instructions. [USDOT UCP directory] Visit the state certifier.
  2. Prepare the uniform application, supporting records, personal narrative and net-worth statement. [49 CFR 26.67] Check the application requirements.
  3. Submit through the certifier’s instructed channel and respond to requests for records or an interview. [49 CFR 26.83] Follow the certifier’s submission instructions.

Kansas Recognizing Innovative Supplier Excellence (RISE)

Kansas small-business certification with size tiers and optional ownership designations. [Kansas RISE guidance]

Kansas Department of Commerce. Official program information

Sources reviewed .

Who qualifies

Businesses meeting SBA size standards with a Kansas headquarters or qualifying Kansas operations and workforce. [Kansas RISE guidance]

  • At least 51% of employees must be in Kansas. Size tiers cover 1–24 employees, 25–99 employees and larger firms within SBA limits. [Kansas RISE guidance]
  • Prepare business-formation and owner-identification records and the requested tax returns; women, minority and veteran designations require supporting ownership evidence. [Kansas RISE guidance]

Cost

A certification fee is not stated in the official sources reviewed. Ask the agency before applying. [Kansas RISE guidance]

Processing time

A typical processing time is not stated in the official sources reviewed. [Kansas RISE guidance]

What it unlocks

  • Listing in the RISE supplier directory for government and corporate procurement connections. [Kansas RISE guidance]

How to apply

  1. Review RISE’s eligibility and documentation requirements. [Kansas RISE guidance] Read RISE requirements.
  2. Create an account in the linked RISE application portal and submit the required records. [Kansas RISE guidance] Find the RISE application.

Compare federal certifications